Artist Statement

Throughout second year I have tried many different styles of art, testing a lot of things out that put me out of my comfort zone in order to make sure I am doing the right thing. I began by looking at Martyn Brewster’s type of art work; mainly “beauty vs sadness no. 70”. I originally tried using his work as a source of ideas, in which it did, however not in the way that I thought it may have. I found his work interesting as it is not like anything I have done before, and that intrigued me, yet the abstract style didn’t really inspire me to do my own work based on it. However, I was interested in the thought processes behind it, as well as the title of the piece. At the beginning I experimented with ink, acrylic and charcoal in order to show a representation of Brewster’s artwork. I quickly realised that this wasn’t what I wanted to do, therefore I did a lot of artist research to try and inspire me. However, for my Summer Project I did a lot of photography with disposable cameras as well as digital, and I enjoyed this therefore after I realised that abstract wasn’t for me I wanted to explore more with photography in my practice.

The Field Module Figurative Modelling was particularly influential for me; as I found using clay extremely therapeutic. This is when I decided I wanted to work more with clay, therefore I started building clay bodies which is what I decided to use in my Subject exhibition. For the material project I did the Photography workshops, which linked really well with my Summer Project. I gained a more in-depth knowledge of how a camera works best, as well as how to make the most out of lighting in the studio. From this workshop I found multiples really interesting, and decided I wanted to work with photography and taking portrait photographs. Since the first term I have done a lot of life drawings to help me gain a deeper understanding of the human body. Throughout this drawing I will be able to create more accurate clay bodies. I have also been looking at lino prints as they’re really interesting to use and I haven’t done it previously. I have found that these have made my life drawings as well as my heart drawings a lot more interesting in the sense that it’s a different way in which to present my work. I have done these things in quite a basic way, however I hope to work more with photography and clay over summer as well as in third year to improve my skills in these fields.

One thought on “Artist Statement”

  1. Pingback: Jens Fine Art

Leave a Reply

