Thoughts behind Exhibition ideas

My original idea for a future exhibition would be to have a room with film photography portraits plastered all over the walls surrounding the viewer. Then to have the headless clay bodies on the floor in front of the portraits. I recently hit a bit of a creative block; therefore I started doing some creative writing again. This made me think that I could print out some creative writing pieces about the effects of body image and issues that people feel on to acetate paper and have them dangling from the ceiling in front and throughout the room of photos and bodies so the viewer is surrounded by these thoughts and feelings that people get.

I was influenced by the Serpentine Gallery exhibition that I went to called Marc Camille Chaimowicz: An Autumn Lexicon where  I particularly liked the atmosphere in the room of ‘Enough Tiranny’ as it was really interesting and different to the rest of the pieces in the gallery. The ‘World of Interiors’, 2008, was also another piece I was particularly drawn to, as I liked the grid style layout.

When doing research I also looked in to an installation piece by Nurallia called “Don’t Be a Puppet/Love Yourself”. This installation looked in to the topic of eating disorders, focusing mainly on bulimia. This artwork showed how real life people saw themselves; this information was gathered from people on eating disorder forums. Which is what particularly interested me as I also want to show how people feel about themselves in my creative writing.

 

After the key concept lecture on site specific artwork I researched many artists that could be considered to have site specific artwork. I did this because it was interesting as to how different artists work changes when they exhibit in different places. From this research I looked in to; Antony Gormley, Robert Smithson, Richard Long, Dan Flavin, Andy Goldsworthy, Robert Irwin, Marcel Duchamp, Ai Weiwei, Yayoi Kusama, Nobuo Sekine. I also looked through the books; Land Art – William Malpas – Crescent Moon Blurring The Boundaries – Installation Art 1969-1996 Sculpture Now – Anna Moszynska – Thames & Hudson world of art Land Art In The U.K – William Malpas. From this research I chose to look at Antony Gormley’s artwork ‘Another Place’.

According to Antony Gormley, Another Place harnesses the ebb and flow of the tide to explore man’s relationship with nature. He explains: The seaside is a good place to do this. Here time is tested by tide, architecture by the elements and the prevalence of sky seems to question the earth’s substance. In this work human life is tested against planetary time. I found this really interesting as at the time I was looking in to building clay bodies myself, therefore showed that this style of sculpture and artwork doesn’t always have to be exhibited in a gallery space.

screen-shot-2017-02-21-at-17-35-48

 

2 thoughts on “Thoughts behind Exhibition ideas”

  1. Pingback: Jens Fine Art
  2. Pingback: Jens Fine Art

Leave a Reply

